Review: Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Cover image - Serpent & DoveTitle: Serpent & Dove

Author: Shelby Mahurin

Genre: YA/NA Fantasy

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication date: 3 September 2019

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis from Harper Collins Australia: 

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.


*Thank you to Harper Collins Australia for sending me a finished copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*Review2

I loved this book. I Loved This Book!

And again for the people in the back: I LOVED THIS BOOK!

That would be my very quick short review.

But you know me I love a ramble so lets get into why I loved this book. The first thing is the writing itself I mean what a debut! I was enthralled from page one, could not put it down! I was hooked even when the plot itself slowed down from time to time I still just wanted to know what would happen next and the feelings the writing invoked! I mean I laughed, I gasped, I cried this book and the writing really did make me feel it all.

Secondly I loved the bad ass women characters and the strong female friendship in this! I loved it! I love that we are getting more strong, brave, smart, talented, unconventional, out of the box from societies norms main female characters! and Lou and coco are just some of the best! No competition just support and raising each other up like the queens they are!

Also witches and the witchey vibes! My gosh, you all know that vampires will always hold my heart but witches are really giving them a run for their money this year and this book was no exception! Loved the dark undertones, the different types of witches and hearing about the law and how witches were treated in this time period. I loved that Lou’s magic always required an equal price and the patterns show up as gold threads.

Last but not least and actually my favourite thing about this book is the enemies to lovers romance trope, the forced marriage trope and the will they wont they slow burn that this was! It was so good the way Lou and Reid acted around each other and how this developed and changes over time with and without them realising.

Also Ansel is a precious bean and too good for this earth! The plot was great and had so many twists and turns that I did not see coming! I absolutely can not wait for book 2!

In conclusion, I actually loved this book and it has taken the spot for my favourite book of the year so far! There is not one thing I can think of right now that I personally didn’t like about this book. 100% do recommend if anything I have said above even slightly intrigues you. This book is hands down a 5 out of 5 stars from me.  Let's Chat!

Have you read this one yet? What did you think? What are some of your favourite witchey reads? Let me know in the comments below! Until next time happy watching and reading! 

Signature

Review: The price guide to the occult by Leslye Walton

Title: The price guide to the occult

Author: Leslye Walton

Genre: YA paranormal fiction

Publisher: Walker Books Australia

Publication date: 1 March 2019

Rating: 3/5

Synopsis from Walker Books Australia:

From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting tale of magic and murder. When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Instead, guilt and fear led the island’s original eight settlers to burn “the witch” out of her home. So Rona invoked the privileges of a witch; she cursed them. But such a spell always comes with a terrible price, and in punishing the island’s residents, Rona also bound her family ever tighter to them. Fast-forward to the present day and all Nor Blackburn wants is to live an unremarkable teenage life. And she has reason to hope that she may have escaped the thorny side-effects of the family matriach’s curse. But then a mysterious book comes out, promising to cast any spell for the right price. The author – Nor’s own mother – seems capable of performing magic that should be far beyond her capabilities. And such magic always requires a sacrifice. A storm is coming. It’s coming for Nor.


*Thank you to Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*Review2

Just reading the blurb of the book made this seem like it was right up my alley! A dark paranormal with Witches, the promise of trouble and magic that comes with a price?? Yes please!! For the most part the blurb did deliver! I liked learning about the history of the town and Nor’s family and all the past witches. I liked that the atmosphere seemed darker. This one would be a great Halloween read if you ask me! However, as I don’t normally do much more research into a book other than reading the blurb, I was a bit surprised at just how dark some of the scenes and content were!

Luckily for me I have not had issues with self-harm, so I was able to read the entirety of the book no problem. However, for those who consider self-harm or the mention of self-harm a trigger than please do your research on this one before deciding if it’s for you or not. As it is not an issue I have had myself I also can not really comment if the author depicted this well or not. For me it seemed a bit odd at times as in it didn’t add a whole lot to the story but other times, I felt it gave more depth to nor as a character as we got more insight into her feelings at those moments.

I thought the pacing was very up and down. As in I always wanted to keep reading even though for the most part it felt very slow and a lot of build up to the final few chapters. Having said that though I overall mostly enjoyed it and those final few chapters had me on the edge of my seat! I also loved that the ending lead to the possibility of a sequel. I am unsure if this is actually happening or not. But I kind of hope it is as the way it left off seems like the sequel would be very high stakes and fast paced which would be awesome!

In conclusion, I enjoyed this one for the most part. The paranormal aspects and the darker mood were great. However, there were some issues with pacing and the way some things were represented. Overall if this sounds like something you are normally into, I would definitely recommend giving it a go and that is why I am rating it 3/5 stars. Let's Chat!Have you guys read this one? What are some of your favourite darker witch reads? Until next time happy watching and reading! 

Signature